Get the most out of the Teacher Learning Community. Sign in now. Not a member? Click here to get started for free!

Tips for classroom management for subs

First
Page 1 of 1
Last
8 months ago
I'm a former teacher who is now a substitute. I recently had a rough day, so I wanted to ask for advice on how to handle students who become confrontational or refuse to work.

In this case (in a middle school) the teacher had given me little information about classroom polcies besides calling security if the students got out of hand. One student refused to do her work, saying "I don't do work for subs". Another in a later class told me the teacher lets them talk and listen to music while they read. I told them that they needed to read silently, but they refused. Most of the schools in this district also have a no phones policy, though the teacher hadn't specified what her policy was. When a student in this class was on his phone, I confiscated it and put it at the front of the room saying he could have it back at the end of the class. This then caused another student to claim I was breaking the law by taking someone's property.

Any tips on how to deal with students like these besides leaving a note for the teacher? I'd like to be able to handle it right away so that other students can remain on task and focused.
8 months ago