Get the most out of the Teacher Learning Community. Sign in now. Not a member? Click here to get started for free!

Hello, new here and almost new teacher

First
Page 1 of 1
Last
4 months ago
Hi, I am Kristi. I am completing my credential program as a single subject English teacher. I am also starting a new career at 57. I have been trying to get an internship and have had little to no success. I had a few interviews early on in March but, nothing since.

I have now switched up and am looking for student teaching. It is late to make the switch and there is a possibility that I will have to wait a year.

I have been subbing for four years and recently left the job I had for several reasons, one was the low pay.

I was wondering if anyone has ideas about getting intern jobs, I live south of Los Angeles, which is too far for me to work in.

Anyway, I plan on taking classes and webinars to add to my resume and because I love to learn.

So, again, hello!
4 months ago
Hello, Kristi. Don't get too stressed about the quiet since March. Spring testing can slow interviews down. As the year ends it may pick up. Good luck with your search! It'll all work out. You'll see!
+8
4 months ago
Quote from kristi.heckman@gmail.com
Hi, I am Kristi. I am completing my credential program as a single subject English teacher. I am also starting a new career at 57. I have been trying to get an internship and have had little to no success. I had a few interviews early on in March but, nothing since.

I have now switched up and am looking for student teaching. It is late to make the switch and there is a possibility that I will have to wait a year.

I have been subbing for four years and recently left the job I had for several reasons, one was the low pay.

I was wondering if anyone has ideas about getting intern jobs, I live south of Los Angeles, which is too far for me to work in.

Anyway, I plan on taking classes and webinars to add to my resume and because I love to learn.