Get the most out of the Teacher Learning Community. Sign in now. Not a member? Click here to get started for free!

Putting Common Core Standards to Work in Social Studies

First
Page 1 of 2
Last
Basic Member
+5
6 years ago
Hi

We are all well aware of the Common Core standards. I am wondering what has been the most difficult aspect of implementing the standards for you as a teacher? Has anyone received any training on Common Core?

Looking forward to your comments.
Basic Member
6 years ago
I am an International Teacher. Last year was the first year I used Common Core with my 4th graders in Cairo, Egypt. I only implemented ELA and Math. I loved it! The biggest challenges for me were:

1. It took some extra effort and time to plan and pull new lessons and activities focused on the common core.

2. It was a whole new way of evaluating and grading. I switched to a Common Core grade book I found on TPT halfway through the year and it worked much better for tracking my students' mastery of standards.

We used the online MAP testing 3x during the year and I found the immediate feedback an excellent tool in reflecting on my lesson planning and differentiation. I am looking forward to using Common Core and MAP again this year with my students in Rwanda.
Basic Member
4 years ago
We are currently in training focused on Common Core in Social Studies. There is great emphasis placed on reading.
Basic Member
+2
4 years ago
I am attending a workshop on the new Social Studies standards as I write this.
Basic Member
4 years ago
I teach Junior Kindergarten, and it isn`t easy to get them to comprehend concept of towns, then states, then countries etc. I am trying to get ideas with common core, to help me with this. They understand where they live, but to explain around the world?

I enjoyed the SimpleK12 ideas, and the webinars, videos.

Last updated: 4 years ago

4 years ago
Let's work together!
Basic Member
4 years ago
Ok, I look forward to it
Basic Member
4 years ago
HI Kimmie12